PranaMama

A Spiritual Journey, Taken in a Cluttered Station Wagon

Chattering Monkeys March 27, 2010

For those who don’t know, (Oh, my!   For shame!   I bet you don’t carry your groceries in special hemp bags sewn by lesbian orphan amputees, either!) “Chattering Monkeys” is a reference to Buddhist teachings about meditation.  Apparently, our minds are like chattering monkeys, leaping from branch to branch…and, our effort in meditation is to still and calm the little simians for a moment.

Well, kittens, here’s the thing.  It isn’t just my mind.   I, myself, am one big ol’ chattering monkey.   My spazzy dorkitude knows no bounds.   And, today, well, I guess I was in rare form.   We are a bit banana-mad today, peeps, so here is a quick run-down.

Banana #1:      Great practice with Deb today, as usual a great mix of her reliable bag of tricks and some new goodies along the way. But, then we hop off this branch to the next, which notes:

Banana #2:  Did a Dancing Warrior sequence today.  “Infuse the pose with your personality,” Deb says.   Well, if the glance I got in the mirror is any guide, my personality is a flailing mass of dorky limbs.

Banana #3:  Pop Quiz!   You receive an email from a total stranger that implies that you are a bad person.   What do you do?

a.  Cry at your desk for a half an hour.

b.  Obsess for days.

c.  Ask everyone you know for their opinion.

d.  All of the above.

Banana #4:  It’s almost midnight.   Why am I still awake?

 

4 Responses to “Chattering Monkeys”

  1. Kristin Says:

    as for banana #3, i say *delete*

  2. Meowga Says:

    Really. The comments were getting way way out of hand over there. I’m getting the most fascinating education in the politics of yoga. It’s much easier to “Namaste” over a cocktail….

  3. kwrites Says:

    re: banana #4…perhaps the monkeys have not yet made the adjustment to daylight savings time? or else…maybe due to the “all of the above”… 🙂


Leave a Reply

